UKC

Meanwhile the hostile environment rumbles on

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 French Erick 09 Jun 2019

Brexit trench war, Labour’s harmful nostalgia and Tory’s race to rather extreme views should not detract us all from many harmful policies already in place. Harmful at individual level (which I suppose people who are anti-immigration won’t mind) but also harmful at state functional level. 

According to this https://politics.co.uk/news/2019/02/11/hostile-environment-hundreds-of-comm...

were I to look for a place to live at an affordable price I would have a 47% chance of having a harder time than when I first arrived in this country... and I am white! I cannot begin to imagine what people from other background will have had to go through. No lodging, no work... I am a teacher, pupils not having enough teachers as it is. Same in most services, hence harmful to the running of the State.

Even my recently acquired citizenship is no help as the political apparatus is too locked down in ideological masturbation to review and check past decisions... very sad times. The UK has greatly changed compared to when I first arrived here circa August 2004. Maybe I was more optimistic and blinded by youthful ideas... but this was a land of opportunities and striking open-mindedness compared to Southern France.

Any suggestion beyond writing to my MP about reviewing this underhand outrageous outsourcing of immigration control?

editing due to a paragraph not making sense

Post edited at 08:48
 girlymonkey 09 Jun 2019
In reply to French Erick:

I can only apologise on behalf of a country that I used to feel I belonged in.(Despite being British, I no longer feel that I can claim this to be my country.) 

As far as I am concerned, you absolutely belong here and are very welcome. You will, undoubtedly, have contributed more to the UK both in terms of finances and general skills than I have since 2004! 

machine 09 Jun 2019