UKC

Best guidebook/s for Yorkshire and North England?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Tom Corner 24 Jun 2019

Hi all, I am taking my bouldering outdoors this summer and have been looking around for guidebooks for Yorkshire and the North of England. I was just wondering which guides people consider the best as there are a lot to choose from and being a student I can only really afford 1, (maybe 2 depending on the price), so I would like to make the best possible choice. Any help would be much appreciated

Post edited at 09:56
 db79 24 Jun 2019
In reply to Tom Corner:

It depends where about in Yorkshire you are, but I use the YMC Yorkshire Gritstone Volume 1 and 2 guides and Over The Moors more than the Total Climbing Yorkshire Gritstone Bouldering guides.

OP Tom Corner 24 Jun 2019
In reply to db79:

I live in the flattest part of Yorkshire (East) so I am looking for anywhere really, I will give those guides a look and see what areas they cover, thanks for the reply!

Offwidth 24 Jun 2019
In reply to Tom Corner:

Where are you based? 

I don't quite get your affordability angle as transport costs soon overtake the cost of a guidebook. The three guides described above (YMC grit and OtM) are quite simply as good as UK guidebooks get and they are great value for money.

Will Hunt 24 Jun 2019
In reply to Tom Corner:

If you're out east then it might be that your nearest crags are in the North York Moors, for which there is a fairly new dedicated bouldering guide.

http://www.betaguides.co.uk/home-downloads/north-york-moors-and-east-coast-...

Otherwise you're looking at Yorkshire Grit which isn't specifically bouldering but certainly covers just about everything that you might be interested in. If you've not done much bouldering before then I'd reccommend Volume 1 which covers Almscliff, Caley, Brimham etc.

There's also a free online resource that you can scour for less well-known crags. www.unknownstones.com

Will Hunt 24 Jun 2019