UKC

Leader falls onto foot jams - how common?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Mark Bannan 24 Jul 2019

Last week, I was climbing with my mate Graham at the Pass of Ballater. I took a leader fall onto a foot jam near the top of Strawberry Ripple. The gear was just below the jam and this was the best hold I had (left hand positive crimp, right hand slap). My right foot slipped off a nubbin due to wet rock and I fell onto the left foot into the crack. I am lucky that I have only got soft tissue damage and I am recovering well.

I had a search of previous posts and I was surprised to find nothing similar to my experience. I am still learning from my stupid mistakes after climbing for 22 years - I guess I need to avoid wet rock more. I certainly have a renewed dislike of foot jams (I've never liked them very much, certainly compared to hand jams). 

I am just wondering who else has experienced this situation and I am always open to advice on how I can avoid such a situation again (obviously, in addition to my own thoughts).

cheers in anticipation,

M

climberchristy 24 Jul 2019
In reply to Mark Bannan:

I fell off strapadictomy at Froggat. I was reaching a very long way right to get the flake. As I am relatively short I had a left foot toe jam in the break to hold me in. I had runners up above left foot but nothing out right yet. Hands slipped out of flake. As I fell rightwards I was 'caught' by my own foot which stayed stuck in the break. Hurt like hell as I was temporarily hanging by my own ankle before dropping and being caught by the cams. Thought I'd broken my ankle but turned out to be just sprained. No real lessons to be learned just bad luck I think. However if I ever get back on that route I'll avoid the toe jam! 

Michael Gordon 24 Jul 2019
In reply to Mark Bannan:

Ouch! I don't think this is common, though no doubt there are examples. I quite like foot jams, though maybe best avoided when pumped.

In reply to Mark Bannan: