UKC

Winter Climbing Clothing

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Jimbothe5 21 Nov 2019

I'm new to winter climbing and need some advice on what to wear in terms of legs. I was thinking a pair of thermal bottoms with a pair of Rab Kinetic Alpine pants on top.

Does this seem appropriate for most moderate conditions? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Greg Boswell 21 Nov 2019
In reply to Jimbothe5:

That combo is exactly what I wear on the hill in winter, to climb in. It’s warm enough for me, even on the long belays. You can always up the leg warmth with a thicker fleece leggings under the kinetic pants.  

Hope this helps mate. 
Have a good winter. 
Greg 

OP Jimbothe5 21 Nov 2019
In reply to Greg Boswell:

Thank you for the advice!

jethro kiernan 21 Nov 2019
In reply to Jimbothe5:

A pair of either thick 50% merino leggings or  thin leggings depending on the weather and how fast I think I’ll be, worn under winter soft shell trousers

tehmarks 21 Nov 2019
In reply to Jimbothe5:

Powerstretch leggings under a pair of softshell trousers, or Brynje under a pair of softshell trousers. Last year I bought a pair of Mammut Base Jump SO Touring trousers - it was between those and the ME Mission trousers. The one advantage that the ME trousers have is the windstopper knees and arse - stops you getting a wet bum and wet knees when you invariably end up sat or knelt in the snow. I wanted braces though, so went with the Mammut trousers.

oldie 22 Nov 2019
In reply to Jimbothe5: