UKC

ARTICLE: Darkinbad the Brightdayler

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 UKC Articles 27 Dec 2019
Darkinbad the Brightdayler. Andy Moles weaves a story of reading and climbing a classic book and line...

Have you read Ulysses? I studied Ulysses, by which I mean I sat in lectures and seminars and listened to academics telling me things about Ulysses, and I wrote them down. I went so far as to read some bits, the usual bits that people read, such as the beginning and the end. I was very interested conceptually in what Joyce was trying to achieve, but it was much easier to read about it than to read it. Other people had done the hard work.

Read more
 SimonDKemp 27 Dec 2019
In reply to UKC Articles:

Did get some way into Ulysses many years ago but was lacking in power endurance or something. Never even knew that the magical route name came from the book.

What a crag, what a route - good times. Get that done and get on Black Magic - another brilliant route.

If I remember correctly this face featured on the cover of Mountain with Eroica & Darkinbad given a full write up inside. Though way beyond me the routes were fascinating because of the names - this article adds to the myth. On a slightly different note I wanted to find out the details of first ascents and I will have to go to paper sources as the UKC logbook does not record their details. I think there is a long term project for moderators to add FA information to significant climbs in the UKC logbook.

Luke90 27 Dec 2019
In reply to keith-ratcliffe:

> I think there is a long term project for moderators to add FA information to significant climbs in the UKC logbook.

You don't need to be a moderator. Anyone can suggest edits to a climb. Then the moderator can approve them.

Misha 28 Dec 2019

Interesting, was aware of Pat’s quote but didn’t know the route name came from the book. May be it didn’t? Could just be a coincidence... One to ask Pat if you see him!