UKC

Technical bouldering skills

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 HHPhotoClimb 19 Jan 2020

Hi all - my first post on here!

I’ve been doing indoor bouldering for about 2 years and I’ve hit the infamous plateau at about the V5 mark.

I've identified technique as my major weakness but I have NO idea how to train this. I was hoping you might be able to give me some tips re what a technical session at the wall should look like (eg X minute warm up, X mins on Y activity etc) and good technical drills (eg 3 sets of quiet climbing on a route 2 grades below my max).

Thanks in advance for sharing, it’s much appreciated! 

Harry 

Misha 19 Jan 2020
In reply to HHPhotoClimb:

Ask better climbers for tips on how to do problems and go bouldering outside - technique is often key outside so that will help. 

Andy Hardy 19 Jan 2020

Which technique have you identified as being weak?

OP HHPhotoClimb 19 Jan 2020
In reply to Andy Hardy:

Foot work - I burn through shoes like mad.

Over gripping holds like mad, probably due to the bad footwork. 

stevevans5 19 Jan 2020

Did you see the article Neil Gresham did for UKC recently? It's pretty long but the main thing is the movement drills mentioned towards the end. Silent feet during your warm-up and making sure you get your foot in the right place first time. Then from there working on body positioning relative to the holds. His climbing masterclass is also very good! 

If you want something a bit more committed then John kettles book is basically a massive collection of movement drills. 

plyometrics 19 Jan 2020

As per Misha’s advice. Go climbing outside, if you have the capacity to. 

My only word of warning would be don’t expect to climb V5 if you do end up doing that.

Good luck. 

jezb1 19 Jan 2020

Ask your regular wall for a recommendation of a good coach. 

Even one session with a decent one will be well worth it.

MischaHY 19 Jan 2020
In reply to jezb1: