UKC

New Anasazi pro

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 mikeski 06 Mar 2020

So I’ve been wearing the Five Ten Anasazi vcs for at least 15 years and I’ve been a fan of the pros. Yesterday I went to buy a new pair for the first time since Adidas took over and there is a big difference in the sizing. I was an 8.5 before and now the 9.5 still seems a bit small. 

Is the only change the sizing? If that’s all it is I’ll be happy to buy a pair of size 10 or whatever seems best. Has the fit of the shoe changed at all?

RR 06 Mar 2020
In reply to mikeski:

I’ am in the same boat. I haven’t bought Anasazi’s Pro’s since “the Adidas change”. Loved them. Now made in China, nothing wrong with that. As you mail order 5.10 shoes they are now descripted as “outdoor”. But the, “but” is that they changed the rubber = Harder, read less sticky. I got their new Pinks, quite disappointed, and prefer now better the Tenaya Masia’s which are very similar to the old Pinks. 

Alternatives for me to the Anasazi's would be Unparallel (very, very sticky rubber, but less pointy), Tenaya (their Mastia’s which I will give a try, in searching an alternative for the Anasazi’s) and La Sportiva Muira’s VS (last very similar to the Anasazi for me) come mind though less sensitive, but good for edging, and not so good for smearing as the Anasazi Pro’s. May be La Sportiva's Katana’s VS (haven’t tried them)? I noticed after changing what a difference shoes can make.

mal_meech 06 Mar 2020
In reply to mikeski:

I found the whole shape had changed slightly with the new last, and my foot (after ~20 years of pink/verde/VCS use) just doesn't fit as well anymore.