UKC

Captain Tom's millions, portfolio management?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.

Please do not take this as a criticism of Captain Tom, it is not. 

Of the £30M raised, c£5M is from gift aid support. This is tax revenue, taken from the public purse and given to the charity. 

Captain Tom's money is being donated to the NHS charitable arm, which is used to provide desirables. Tax revenue is used to fund essentials within the health service.

Funding desirables over essentials is poor portfolio management is it not? 

Whilst I have a working knowledge of portfolio management, I have little knowledge of NHS charities and how transferable to general NHS budget it is. 

neuromancer 01 May 2020
In reply to Presley Whippet:

I assume you mean Colonel Tom?

The New NickB 01 May 2020
In reply to neuromancer:

> I assume you mean Colonel Tom?

Are honary ranks used? Prince Charles manages to be an Admiral, a General and an Air Marshall or some such, but we don't refer to him as such.

Post edited at 08:45
In reply to neuromancer:

Yeah, yeah. If I had my way we would be stripping knighthoods fro Branson, Green and several more with lower profiles and redistributing them to the likes of Tom. 

Anyway, back to topic... 

Yanis Nayu 01 May 2020
In reply to The New NickB:

I think if you are a major or higher you can keep the title on retirement. 

Rob Parsons 01 May 2020

Viewed like that, I have always considered 'Gift Aid' a very weird thing. But it exists as part of our (very complicated!) tax laws, so it's the way it is for now - and affects a whole host of things apart from the specific case you mention here.

Lord_ash2000 01 May 2020

Possibly, but in this case the essentials are desirable so it'll probably be okay.