UKC

Ladies size 2 hiking boots

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Tinyfeet 21 Oct 2020

Hi,

I have had my feet measured for hiking boots and my feet measure at a size 2. The shop didn’t have any suitable boots. 

I’m ideally looking for waterproof hiking boots with good ankle support and a good sole. I would like boots that aren’t too stiff and offer some flexibility.

I suggested a size 3 as that’s what I normally wear in shoes as I have quite wide feet. He insisted they were too big and were no use. 

Does anyone have any suggestions of where I could get boots from? I’ve never done hillwalking before but my running trainers are a size 3 (I think) and this is fine as my feet can puff up with the heat and I don’t like them to feel too tight. 

I’ve seen on another thread on here that some people go up 1 or even 2 sizes in hiking boots. 

As I’ve never done hillwalking before I would like the boots to be properly fitted and I’m reluctant to order online for this reason. 

If anyone has any suggestions or can help at all I’d really appreciate it. 

Thanks

girlymonkey 21 Oct 2020
In reply to Tinyfeet:

I personally never wear boots unless I am wearing crampons. Are you running shoes for trail running? If so, they will probably do you fine. Your muscles support your ankles!

I can't comment on the size as I can't see your feet! When I did a horrible few months working in Tiso I did spend a lot of time convincing people that they need space for their feet to swell so not sizing too small. 

Tinyfeet 21 Oct 2020
In reply to girlymonkey:

Hi, Thanks for your reply

I need to get proper walking boots as I’m training for a trek (hopefully) next year. 

My running trainers are just a pair of Brooks and they wouldn’t be suitable as I just run on pavements. 

I’m going to go to a different outdoor shop and see what they say. I know my feet do puff up and I would need to allow room for socks. I hope a 3 will be OK, then again I’m not a boot expert