UKC

Learn to lead trad

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Mancclimb 21 Nov 2020

Hi. I'm looking to learn to lead trad as soon as the weather begins to turn, or ASAP. I'm a teacher based in Manchester and mainly available during weekends and school holidays. Would anybody have any recommendations?

Thank you.

Giles Davis 21 Nov 2020
In reply to Mancclimb:

Hi Manclimb,

I provide learn to lead courses. My website is here but feel free to contact me any other way if you want to chat further about a course? www.theoutsideedge.co.uk 

I'm based in South Wales with good access to Trad and Sport crags but can travel as well if you want something closer to home.

Cheers

Giles

mrphilipoldham 21 Nov 2020
In reply to Mancclimb:

Are you looking for recommendations for a proper course, or for an experienced trad climber to learn through a more organic experience?

OP Mancclimb 21 Nov 2020
In reply to Giles Davis:

Thanks, but I think South Wales is a bit too far. North Wales, Peaks or North Yorkshire would probably be best for me.

OP Mancclimb 21 Nov 2020
In reply to mrphilipoldham:

It depends, I have access to someone who might be able to give me that but I was thinking a qualified instructor given the dangers involved. I'm happy to hear your thoughts?

In reply to Mancclimb:

I learnt through climbing with a friend, and then with other climbers met via here and have since shown others the ropes who have gone on to be successful trad climbers themselves. I’m based just up in Hebden Bridge so quite handy for Manchester. Your call obviously, it just wasn’t exactly clear from your original message