UKC

Rope chemical damage.

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Root1 21 Jan 2021

Does anyone know if ropes can be damaged by paraffin contamination?

Lesdavmor 21 Jan 2021
In reply to Root1:

yes

henwardian 21 Jan 2021
In reply to Root1:

This is not a question you should ever be asking because it doesn't matter if the answer from someone on UKC is yes or no.

THROW THEM AWAY! TODAY!!

Cobra_Head 21 Jan 2021
In reply to Lesdavmor:

> yes

Yes, someone knows?

Cobra_Head 21 Jan 2021
In reply to Root1:

How much, and for how long? probably not.

But I'm not a rope expert.

tehmarks 21 Jan 2021
In reply to Root1:

I'd imagine there must be some data available in some corner of the Internet, perhaps if you substitute nylon in place of rope.

My gut feeling: does paraffin damage ropes? Probably not. Would I continue to climb on ropes that I'd spilt paraffin all over? Probably not.

Brown 21 Jan 2021
In reply to Root1:

Remember you should discard all modern science and the use of analysis and evidence and just throw it away if someone, somewhere, anywhere feels doubt regarding it.

Post edited at 19:35
 GPN 21 Jan 2021
In reply to Root1:

This is worth a look: http://archsafety.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/ICOP-September-2013_1.pdf

Annex J is the relevant bit (climbing rope is made of polyamide, and aviation (jet fuel) is essentially kerosene I believe. No distinguishable effect is shown...

If it was my rope, would I keep using it... don’t know.

DerwentDiluted 21 Jan 2021
In reply to Root1:

Ropes are made from a jumble of hydrocarbons. Oil, kerosene etc are also a jumble of hydrocarbons. If I remember my equipment inspection course correctly most mineral oil products have little effect on ropes, but acids are a killer.

Post edited at 20:15
 daWalt 21 Jan 2021
In reply to Root1:

how about this:

https://www.foxxlifesciences.com/pages/nylon-chemical-compatibility

https://www.plasticsintl.com/chemical-resistance-chart