UKC

Which Crampons?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 George Ormerod 25 Jan 2021

I'm looking for some new crampons for steep water ice.  I like the look / reviews of Petzl Dart Leverlock - anyone have any personal experience?

John Workman 25 Jan 2021
In reply to George Ormerod:

George. I've been using Petzl Darts with the mono point option for several years on Scottish winter - ice and mixed - up to grade VI [bragging]. I like them. They are light, fit well and feel very positive on both water ice and mixed. 

Mine are maybe seven+ years old and as such Petzl don't make antiballing plates for my old model.

This is a slight disadvantage but some clever fella has found a way to adapt  a differing Petzl antiballing plate to fit so that problem is now overcome. The new models do have the antiballing plate option.

In reply to John Workman:

Thanks for that John.  If I'd climbed VI I'd take any opportunity to brag!

Mr. Lee 25 Jan 2021

Personally I prefer duel points for water ice. More versatile when the features start getting funky. My G22s have been great for ice. Imagine the newer Plus model is just as good. It probably partly depends on what crampon best fits your boot. Also whether you plan to use the crampons for mixed as well. Ie to what extent you want an all round pair of crampons. 

In reply to Mr. Lee:

Thanks Lee, the Dart can be set up for any point combination.  Pretty much everyone here uses dual points on water ice for the added stability.  Mixed climbing is the work of the devil, so I will only be using these on ice - but I like the idea of the staggered front points; maybe the best of mono - dual point setups?  Anyone tried this?

andyinglis 26 Jan 2021