UKC

Converting to VHS to digital?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Graeme G 07 Mar 2021

Anybody done this? Would be keen to hear experiences so I can find the easiest way to do it.

Toerag 09 Mar 2021
In reply to Graeme G:

Ask in your local large facebook group, there's bound to be someone on there who does it. I've no personal experience of this, although my Dad did have some cine film put on DVD about 15 years ago quite successfully by someone.

Rob Exile Ward 09 Mar 2021
In reply to Toerag:

'although my Dad did have some cine film put on DVD about 15 years ago quite successfully by someone.'

Great line - it's true, you can find anything you want on t'internet!

OP Graeme G 09 Mar 2021
In reply to Rob Exile Ward:

> 'although my Dad did have some cine film put on DVD about 15 years ago quite successfully by someone.'

> Great line - it's true, you can find anything you want on t'internet!

I’m not convinced. I find sarcasm quite difficult to source. It only seems to be available from special interest sites.

Carless 09 Mar 2021
In reply to Graeme G:

Did it a few years ago before the VHS player gave up the ghost - turned out fine though video quality is evidently not HD

Can't remember the details but seem to remember that I had to solder a cable myself that allowed connecting the VHS player output directly to the PC

Sorry, can't remember more than that

OP Graeme G 09 Mar 2021
In reply to Carless:

Thanks. Contrary to the two replies above, I’m well aware of the range of services who can do this for me. Albeit pretty expensive.  There’s also the option of buying hardware and associated software and doing it myself. Whilst that looks cheaper, it obviously involves investing significant time. Just trying to balance whether spending the extra is worth it, or whether doing it my self makes more sense. And if I do, is there a particular product which anyone has experience of.

In reply to Graeme G: