UKC

Learning Python

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 LastBoyScout 21 May 2021

Hi,

Talking about the progrmming language, not the snake!

Can anyone recommend an online training resource/crash course for this, ideally free, but would consider paid for courses.

Ideally with a leaning towards manipulating databases (Oracle/SQL server), as that's what it's mainly going to be used for, at least initially - I'm going to be picking up supporting a utility at work that's mainly written in Python.

For background, I'm an experienced developer in several other languages, but looking to branch out a bit.

Please don't reply with "don't bother with Python, you should be learning/re-writing it in <x> instead"

elsewhere 21 May 2021
In reply to LastBoyScout:

https://docs.python.org/3/tutorial/

I've not used python RDBMS connection for a while but I think the python bit is DB agnostic apart from the initial connection.

On windows I use the ActiveState version but check the licenscing.

PS don't bother with Python, you should be learning/re-writing it in binary instead, even hex code is for wimps 

Post edited at 16:15
 wintertree 21 May 2021

If you're experienced then just working through the online tutorial [1] in a couple of hours should do it for fluency and being up and running.

When I've fielded questions from experienced colleagues moving to Python, most of their queries and WTFs/confusion have been over two things:

• The object model.  It's a perfectly sensible object model, but if you're steeped in C++ it's going to take some getting used to.  I'd recommend reading the detailed documentation on Python.org for that