UKC

Beginner winter walking routes (lomond/trossachs) w/o ice axe/crampons

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 stormylolol 06 Jan 2022

Hello everybody, 

I was hoping I would be able to get some wisdom as to where to find, or recommendations for winter walking routes in the trossarch/loch lomond area that would not generally require crampons/ice axe (conditions allowing, of course). 

I am a university student and to my excitement, one of my friends suggested we go walking this winter. I have previously read the freedom of the hills and the handbook of alpine climbing, have acquired a couple walking axes and B2 boots and have previous summer experience. Unfortunately I do not have any previous winter walking experience, and am not too happy about just going in guns blazing with little collective experience amongst our group.

As students we dont have too much time (and a severe lack of money!), so after researching the courses ran by Glenmore Lodge and suchlike, I think they will be unfeasible at this time. I am looking into private guides but am coming up a little short on finding much information over google - will try harder!

Anyway, for the meantime I was hoping I could get some pointers as to sussing out some (hopefully) straightforward routes that do not require crampons/ice axes. To illustrate this I mean something like the walk from ogwen cottage up to the stone wall that runs down the valley between tryfan and glyder fawr, then circling back around tryfan to the A5 and walking to the car park again. Not summiting anything and wasnt a massive day, but still had the feel of being amongst the mountains and in the snow.

Many thanks.

In reply to stormylolol: