UKC

Domestic wind turbines anyone got one?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 artif 13 Feb 2022

Domestic wind turbines?

Just wondering if anyone here has got one.

Thinking of getting one in parallel with solar. Definitely diy, as the estimated £25-30k install costs are taking the p. 

I have some experience as we used to live on a boat, off grid with battery and inverter system. 

Live in a windy area, great for kitesurfing etc and why I live here. 

Our house is totally electric, so I'm thinking of it as a supplementary system not totally off grid, but with the imminent energy cost increases, the cost benefits are looking better by the minute. 

Wind turbine, inverter and smallish battery Bank, probably add a bit of solar for the summer but our electric usage in summer is low. 

Rog Wilko 13 Feb 2022
In reply to artif:

I haven’t. Bump.

Steve Claw 13 Feb 2022
In reply to artif:

I wouldn't recommend it for any domestic property, unless you have a farm or similar where you can get the turbine away from obstacles that buffer the wind.

If you really want to know, then get an anemometer that logs the speed and compare the average speed to the datasheet for the turbine.

Only a Crag 13 Feb 2022
In reply to artif:

Try making a couple vertical axis if you have the space put a few together, cheaper than £25k

https://opensourcelowtech.org/wind_turbine.html

youtube.com/watch?v=t9TrUPoevXI&

OP artif 13 Feb 2022
In reply to Steve Claw:

We live in a bungalow, like most of the properties on our road and our garden is long enough to site it a decent distance away. The predominant wind direction is fairly unobstructed.

wintertree 13 Feb 2022
In reply to artif:

Issues to think about beyond those mentioned:

• Planning permission - years since I check but IIRC it used to be you only had permitted development rights (ie no need for planning) if it was MCS certified kit and installer (so no DIY) and if you didn’t have an air source heat pump.