UKC

Prince Andrew settles US civil sex assault case

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Thread auto-archived as it is too large
 elsewhere 15 Feb 2022

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-60393843

No details of the settlement yet.

subtle 15 Feb 2022
In reply to elsewhere:

> No details of the settlement yet.

Phew, that was agreed easily, no sweat!

In reply to elsewhere:

I doubt she'll need to work again 😂

Rob Exile Ward 15 Feb 2022
In reply to elsewhere:

You have to feel sorry for him.

Er no, actually you don't. 

In reply to elsewhere:

If I was innocent, with my reputation in shreds, and with his resources at my disposal I would be skipping all the way to the US to legally tear her and her team new arses. 

Or I'm a fiddling fiddler and would sooner, with access to similar resources,  not have my reputation shredded still further and buy myself an NDA and platitudes and slink off for the rest of my life in luxurious anonymity.

I'm not a legal expert though.

OP elsewhere 15 Feb 2022
In reply to TheDrunkenBakers:

> I'm not a legal expert though.

I think UKC's legal experts thought a settlement was the likely outcome.

There's some details there now at https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-60393843 

Post edited at 16:40
In reply to elsewhere:

They did.

The claimant's lawyer hopping into print to say that under no circumstances will they settle without a public admission of liability is generally a sure sign that the case will shortly be settled for a large sum of money without, of course, any public admission of liability.

To be fair, you would do that in Andrew's position whatever the truth. Getting cross-examined about this could never be anything but excruciating and expensive, and you are depending upon a New York jury to prefer your account of events to another person;s.

jcm

the sheep 15 Feb 2022
In reply to johncoxmysteriously:

The worst thing is that we the public will have paid for him to buy his way out of this