UKC

Has anybody found an alternative to ViewRanger yet

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 webding 26 Mar 2022

Now that ViewRanger has been turned off has anybody found a suitable alternative yet??

Flinticus 26 Mar 2022
In reply to webding:

Still using it with my puchased tiles!

Tyler 26 Mar 2022
In reply to webding:

I witched too OS. The maps are fine (obvs) but I don't like it anywhere near as much and I've been using it for a couple of months now

ScraggyGoat 26 Mar 2022
In reply to webding:

Just buy the whole of the Uk 1:50k from memory map or. Anquent. Down load the lot to your phone and your done. Price over tens years or more of use is peanuts.

In reply to ScraggyGoat:

Hmmm, except you're assuming that anquet and memorymap won't get bought out and killed off at some point.

alibrightman 27 Mar 2022
In reply to webding:

I still use viewranger on my phone with the maps i bought.

If you're looking to buy some new maps, that's a different question.  Sorry I can't help there.

alibrightman 27 Mar 2022
In reply to pancakeandchips:

How will they delete the app and the maps on my phone?

In reply to alibrightman:

With an automated update. Didn't you start getting the "launch openactive or continue to viewranger" screen at some point in the last couple of months? That could just as easily have been an update which deleted all your content and locked you out of the app. All you can really do to make sure this never happens is to use a firewall to stop viewranger from ever connecting to the internet.

JDal 27 Mar 2022
In reply to ScraggyGoat:

> Just buy the whole of the Uk 1:50k from memory map or. Anquent. Down load the lot to your phone and your done. Price over tens years or more of use is peanuts.

Anquet are subscription only now. About the same price as OS iirc. I still have the old desktop program and all the maps I normally use, but the old Android app is no more so I've been forced into paying the subscription.