UKC

Jack's Rake

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Slackboot 27 Mar 2022
Thread moved from Rocktalk to Hilltalk

I have been up Jack's Rake (Grade-1) many times over the years. Each time I do it I think to myself that for absolute novices it must be quite a daunting thing to solo. 

Yesterday I met such a group. A lady, her partner and her father an elderly gentleman. They graciously allowed me past ( it was right at the start) with the comment " you can show us the way ". Chatting to them it was obvious that they wanted me to shepherd them up it. I explained that I had to push on as my friend was waiting at the tarn and expecting me back within the hour. I gave them what info. and advice I could before leaving them at the first groove.

That night I couldn' t stop thinking about how they got on.  I felt a bit guilty for not staying with them but I had other people relying on me to get back at the arranged time.

My question is....what becomes of people like this? Do they succeed with the help of others? Do they back off? Do they get stuck halfway up and get rescued? 

I met another guy further up who was stuck and couldn't find the way off. Happily I was able to help him and still get down before my friend started to worry.

But what happens to people like the first group I passed? There must be lots like this in summer.

plyometrics 27 Mar 2022
In reply to Slackboot:

Initial thought would be briefly explaining the potential dangers of a route like this and politely highlighting the fact if they needed “showing the way” they might be biting off more than they can chew.

Cake 27 Mar 2022
In reply to Slackboot:

Surely they would just turn back at that bit where you step over a kind of void. It's not like it's much harder down than up, is it?

C Witter 27 Mar 2022
In reply to Slackboot: