UKC

Mid Life Crisis

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 OldGeezer 03 May 2022

Seems like I'm not the only person today having issues. So, I have registered under a new account for anonymity. Regular user.

Unlike the younger person who is also having a moment, I am fast approaching middle age. I have a family, home,  lovely wife. I'm reasonably financially secure, have a few savings, a pension and my mortgage is all but paid off and I have no other debts. To the outside world everything looks great.

But I detest my job, feel utterly unfulfilled and cant see a way out. Problem is, it's a well paid job, but a very stressful job, in a specific sector but I've been doing similar roles for 30 years or so and the last couple of years have been terrible. I wasn't furloughed, thankfully, and am able to work from home,  but every evening I dread the next day, and I fear I am creeping back in to depression. I have had bouts, some severe, of mental health issues over the years.

I then look at my skills and see nothing of value to anyone else and thoughts are emerging that I may end up on the scrap heap pretty quickly. I was in a great job until recently but the company was acquired - I dont think I ever got over it. I then moved to a new job but my role was changed and I left about a year ago. The company I joined was in meltdown, which I didnt see from the research I did and so I joined a new company in December. This new role, on the face of it seemed great, but on joining has again not turned out as expected. I know no job is perfect but I cant see me staying and I fear my CV might start to look bad, and then there's the new, younger generation who will start to look more attractive.

I just cant get my head sorted and have become irritable, withdrawn and starting to think the unthinkable as a way out. I spend hours in a daze, eat badly, have zero motivation for anything and exercise has dropped off a cliff. I am also losing sleep.