UKC

New to bouldering

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Russell J 20 Jun 2022

Hello I'm new here . I have a few questions . I'm new to bouldering ( indoor only) . Think I've really found a new passion . I just love it . I love how you can turn the world off when you climb. I'm 43 . I'm in good health,  but as a new climber strength is probably pretty low in climbing terms . I'm male,  5'9 . I'm 12st so not skinny , but not heavy . How can I further my skill level quick and strength ?.  I'm climbing 3 times a week but realise it will take time for hands to get fully used to climbing more times a week . Am I expecting too much too soon? . Or is climbing itself my route to better strength ? TIA

LakesWinter 20 Jun 2022
In reply to Russell J:

Hi Russell,

Here's a few thoughts, hope they help you.

If you are climbing 3 times a week I would do a set of antagonist (pushing muscle) exercises each week as climbing emphasises pulling muscles and if you do no pushing exercises then you can get muscles imbalances and injury. You only need about 3 exercises; I use shoulder press with dumbells, bench press and push ups. 3 sets, 5-10 reps on each set.

I'd get a mat and go bouldering outside - it's even better.

Skill level wise, watching how other climbers in the wall do a problem you are stuck on can be helpful - most people are friendly and happy to chat about how to do it. Otherwise lots of walls run improver groups on certain nights with some coaching so getting involved in one of those could help your technique development.

Lattice Youtube channel also has some good technique videos

Offwidth 20 Jun 2022
In reply to Russell J:

Climbing  without overdoing it is the best thing you can do for now. Congrats on spotting that upfront... too many get injured before they realise... tendons take time to strengthen.

Warm up before climbing, start easy, warm down and stretch after a session.