UKC

Private Pension options

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 James Malloch 04 Oct 2022

I’m a contractor (but not via a limited company) and I’m looking to start adding to some kind of pension next year. 

I have an okay one from my first job but since I left that company I can’t add any more to it.

My last contact enrolled me in NEST so I have a very small amount in that. But I don’t really know much/anything about them.

I guess that the other options would be to choose a private pension provider whom I can keep paying into no matter which contract I’m on, or open a SIPP.

Are there any pros or cons to going private vs sticking with NEST?

And is a SIPP only worth it if you’re happy to manage your own investments?

Any thoughts would be much appreciated!

Hooo 04 Oct 2022
In reply to James Malloch:

I have a private pension since before NEST started, and now a NEST one too as my employer pays into it.

The advantage of a private pension is that you can choose to invest in anything you like. NEST is limited to choosing one of three risk levels IIRC, and that's it. I have a financial advisor who deals with the private pension, and looking at the results he earns his fee. But I wouldn't have a clue how to invest myself, so if I didn't have an IFA I'd just stick with NEST.

JMarkW 04 Oct 2022

one of the biggest advantages of SIPP over NEST for me on my last inside iIR35 contract was that the umbrella company I used allowed me to salary sacrifice into it BEFORE both sets of NI and tax was calculated meaning I saved a lot on the NI contributions.

NEST contributions are done after NI calculations. I saved a lot of money but am older and was paying considerable amounts into it (half my salary 'cos I'm twice your age).

Though like u said re managing the SIPP my understanding of the UK Gilt market has wiped all that savings off for the moment - thanks Tory  mofo's

cheers

mark

Offwidth 04 Oct 2022