UKC

Scarpa Instinct VS sizing for outdoor climbing

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 johnccf 10 Oct 2022

After tons of research online, i bought a pair of Scarpa Instinct VS.
When first trying them on, it feels like the sizing is perfect for bouldering.
The problem is, I bought it specifically for outdoor sports climbing, particular to stand on small chips.
As I'm rather new to outdoor sports climb, I'm not sure if I could wearing them for 20 mins standing on chips.
Should I get them 0.5 size up?

My street shoe size is US men 10 (EU 43), actual feet size is 268 mm long, 114 mm wide (wide foot).
The size of instinct I bought is US 10 (EU 43).
Inside the shoes, my toes bent quite a bit. I could clearly feel the pressue on my toe when standing up straight, but doesn't hurt (at least for the first 3 min).

For my 1.5 year bouldering experience, I wear a climbx beginner shoes size 9.5 (EU 41.5), fits perfect with toes slightly bent.
I then bought a pair of La Sportiva Solution size 9 (EU 42). In the general, the solution feels much tighter than the climbx beginner shoes.

The thing is, I took the Solution for outdoor climbing a few times. It is good and precise, but hurts a bit when I stand on chips.
After 3 sessions outdoor, I actually injure my foot.
Now the ball of my toe hurts if i put my body weight on my toe (normal walking is fine).

I'm now afraid that, if I wear the instinct for 20 min outdoor, the same injury will occur.
But at the same time, the sizing feels alright if I were to wear them for indoor bouldering?

I don't know if I should upgrade 0.5 size up?
or would 0.5 size up be too loose for outdoor sports climb?
or would the instinct stretch later and become perfect in size?

Thanks for any suggestion.

ps. there's no instinct anywhere in my city, so I could not try them on...

SDM 10 Oct 2022
In reply to johnccf:

As with any shoe, there will be a little bit of stretch with the Instinct but they don't stretch lots.