UKC

Running lumbar packs / bum bags / belts

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 elliot.baker 13 Oct 2022

I was inspired by the wildcamping / running article recently to want to try a running bumbag thing, I've been using a decathlon 10L vest for a few years but like the idea of my shoulders being unencumbered.

https://www.ukclimbing.com/forums/ukc/fastpacking_-_without_a_pack-748814

The chap in this article uses the Sierra Designs 7-10 (and somehow magically gets a full camping set up in there!). I was thinking of getting one for general long runs, but wanted the larger one so I could put hoodie/baselayer, waterproof coat/trousers etc.. Maybe even use it for hiking as well just to feel a bit lighter on my feet.

I've had a look around on websites like ultralight outdoor gear and can't see anything quite the same in terms of size (that includes two bottle pockets etc.) Reviews seem pretty decent and say it doesn't bounce around etc.

Has anyone got experience running with these type of things, what are they like? I've never used one before and £55 is quite an investment for a jump into the unknown.

wbo2 13 Oct 2022
In reply to elliot.baker: Personally hate them and much prefer a vest

plyometrics 13 Oct 2022
In reply to elliot.baker:

You won’t go wrong with one of these: https://theomm.com/product-tag/waistbelt-6/

OP elliot.baker 13 Oct 2022
In reply to plyometrics:

oo that does look good and capacious (if that's a word!), and the hip belt looks nice and wide. But it lacks the outer compression straps of the Sierra Design one, which you can also use to stow stuff on the outside.

I'll do a bit of research into it, thankyou!

Edit: i take it back the OMM has compression cord!

Post edited at 13:09
 Forest Dump 13 Oct 2022

I have a Raidlight tube / wide belt type affair sub divided into a few pockets. Capacity wise it took a fair bit but has a tendency to slip which was worse with certain short materials 

Ridge 13 Oct 2022