UKC

Creating Top Rope anchors

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.

Hello, I'm fairly new to climbing. Only done Bouldering, Top Rope and Tope Rope solo at a few crags. I've been looking at Top rope anchors set ups, particulary in situations where there are no placed bolts. I've seen some set ups where the climber uses a static rope, and ties it to a couple of trees, or uses cams or nuts if trees arent available. Then with the same rope, ties a couple of loops, at  the distance where you want the anchor to hang. Then a couple of carabiners or quickdraws on those loopes, and it's good to go. Just run your dynamic rope through the carabiners and you can either just pass the rope through the carabiners and leave one line for belayer and one for climber, or tie the rope in the carabiners so both lines can be used by the climber to rope solo and ascending the rope if necessary. I was wondering what is the general opinion on this type of set ups, and why not also use a dynamic for the top anchor, woudnt it be safer? Also would there be any way that i could tie the climbing rope in this anchor, and have the whole lenght of the rope in a single line?

Apprectiate any help

(ps: sorry if any term is inacurate, I'm also still new to proper climbing terms and words.)

Post edited at 10:42
 Enty 22 Oct 2022
In reply to TiagoBrancoEmidio:

I think the only thing you have missed is a rope protector where the static line hangs over the edge.
I used to use a short length of hose pipe threaded along the rope.

E

In reply to Enty:

Thats brilliant never thought of protecting the static rope.

deepsoup 22 Oct 2022

> Thats brilliant never thought of protecting the static rope.

The fact that the rope can move across the edge of the crag (causing wear and tear to the rope and also possibly the rock), also answers this question in your OP:

"...and why not also use a dynamic for the top anchor, woudnt it be safer?"