UKC

Depression

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Mr p 26 Oct 2022

So this is the first that I've tried to look into this but over the years I've been a strong believer in self confidence and self belief.

Since last year ticking my hardest route (sport) I've not been 100% right in the head. (Not that I ever was) I carried on climbing up until this summer where home life took over a little and I decided to stop. Now trying to get back into it I'm finding myself feeling so down every time I go to a wall and if I do have a good session it's not long on the drive home I start to feel down again. Maybe it's not having a goal or the stop start of it all I'm not sure. 

I've had thoughts of just chucking in the towel and just stopping but the guilt of that is way too much to even consider. I've been climbing for a out 17 years now and pretty much every weekend getting out with the occasional brakes here and there. I'm currently sat in a climbing wall and look around at people who are loving it and I see myself trying really hard to remember the days of starting out and just being 100% hooked.

Sorry about any spelling or grammar this isn't my thing.

Has anyone else gone through this and had any help or ideas to get the full love for it back again.

Obviously there is the just go out and enjoy ya self comments on there way but it's not that simple.

Michael Gordon 26 Oct 2022
In reply to Mr p:

Just to clarify, is this feeling depressed in general or 'just' a climbing-related thing?

If the latter, I wonder if this is a similar sort of empty, lost feeling Dave MacLeod has talked about experiencing after climbing Rhapsody. It could be that you're someone who needs a goal to work towards, whether climbing or another activity. Alternatively you may have lost the psyche for climbing in general for which giving it a rest and looking at doing something else entirely may be the answer.   

Dave Cundy 26 Oct 2022
In reply to Mr p: