UKC

Future of ENO

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 veteye 06 Nov 2022

I'm not a great fan of too much opera, but my friend is, and he tells me that ENO are gradually losing funding from the arts council, and being persuaded to move to Manchester. This seems not to be sensible, as there is little in the way of concert space free/available, as far as I can see. Plus what about the competition with ENO North?

Richard J 07 Nov 2022
In reply to veteye:

I wonder if this is connected with the opening of the new venue Factory International next summer?

It certainly seems to be true that DCMS (especially under SoS Nadine Dorries) has been one of the few departments to take "levelling up" seriously, with a substantial shift of Arts Council funding away from London.  

stubbed 07 Nov 2022
In reply to veteye:

I'm no expert but living in Cheshire, this sounds like a good thing to me

John Gresty 07 Nov 2022
In reply to veteye:

Withdraw all their funding, which should then be spent on supporting National Parks. That's levelling up.

John

duncan 07 Nov 2022
In reply to veteye:

This is both meat for the far right who are against subsidy on principle and a good piece of propaganda for the red wall. Opera has an image problem in the UK which makes it an easy target: it’s branded as only for the rich (even in unsubsidised theatres, you can find tickets for less than a premiership football match), elitist (no objective reason why, the tunes are marvellous and in Italy everyone goes), and white (from experience, the ENO audience is considerably more diverse than at a Radiohead concert). Populist politicians love to put the boot in: look at the kerfuffle when Angela Rayner dared to go to Glyndbourne.