UKC

NEW ARTICLE: Echoes by Nick Bullock - Exclusive Excerpt

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 UKC Articles 28 Aug 2012
Nick Bullock, aged 22, Gartree Prison, 2 kbNick Bullock was a prison officer working in a maximum-security jail with some of Britain's most notorious criminals. Trapped in a world of aggression and fear, he felt frustrated and alone. Then he discovered the mountains.

Here we have a UKClimbing.com exclusive excerpt from his debut book 'Echoes' ...

Read more at http://www.ukclimbing.com/articles/page.php?id=4888

psychomansam 28 Aug 2012
Really interesting read thanks although I won't say it was enjoyable.

I'm studying philosophy of punishment at the moment. We have to hope we can learn from countries doing things different and reform our penal system for the better.

Enough to make anyone head for the hills
 andi turner 29 Aug 2012
In reply to UKC Articles: Sounds really good! I'll be buying it.

I hope it continues in this vein. As with so many climbing biographies, it's the background and build up that interests me most, much more than the climbing writing!
 James Edwards 29 Aug 2012
In reply to andi turner:
I received my signed copy in the post this morning.
Iv'e only had time to flick through it after a busy day, but i had a smile and a moment of contemplation when i read the dedication at the front and saw the pictures of Jules and Jamie (i can hear the echoes of laughter in that picture). It seems like another life, another country; the past. And now here i and many others are, putting the children to bed, making packed lunches for the morrow and looking out of the window and worrying that the grass is getting longer. I think that i will enjoy this book very much.

James
Tom Knowles 30 Aug 2012
In reply to UKC Articles:

I find Nick's prison experiences both fascinating and frightening, I couldn't imagine doing that day to day. I read another great excerpt from his website a while ago: