UKC

NEWS: VIDEO: Italian E9 Ground-up for Pearson

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 UKC News 26 Dec 2013
James Pearson, 4 kb

Ex-pat British climber, James Pearson has just made the first ground-up (third overall) ascent of Is Not Always Pasqua?, E9 7a, at Collina di Interprete in Central Italy. James' ascent was also the first placing all the gear on lead. 

Read more at http://www.ukclimbing.com/news/item.php?id=68605
0Unknown0 26 Dec 2013
In reply to UKC News:

Just my take on this, in reality it could be very different but, is there not an awful lot of seemingly very good gear on here to grade it E9, and technically doesn't look the grade either.
I am not an expert but this looks seriously over graded, am i dismissing something or would you agree.
 Chris Craggs Global Crag Moderator 26 Dec 2013
In reply to Dominicandave:

Why does having decent gear mean it can't be E9?

Chris
 Lukeva 26 Dec 2013

That's a joke, right?
 AJM 26 Dec 2013
In reply to UKC News:

I have to say, I was a little puzzled - French 8b into a font 7C+ sequence must clock in relatively hard (8b+? 8c?), with added effort for placing the gear - how many other E9s have climbing that hard on them?

I wasn't quite sure whether it was a French 8b that included a 7C+ crux, but they did state the former (one into the other) in the description...

chalkyjim 26 Dec 2013
In reply to UKC News:

I couldn't watch that. It was worse than Joey barton and the Steve maclaren interviews with the generic foreign accents. Good effort on the route though x
 Michael Gordon 26 Dec 2013
In reply to chalkyjim:

yes funny how JP seems to now sound like a foreigner!
 Fraser 26 Dec 2013
In reply to UKC News:

Very watchable, looks like a great route. JP has grown a lot in my estimation over the years. I think it's understandable his accent and intonation have changed given who he climbs with and where he mostly now climbs.