UKC

Anyone been to the Inverness climbing wall?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
ySoCereal 20 Jul 2019

I'm new to climbing and this is the closest indoor wall for me, was curious if they are setup for solo use of the main walls (not bouldering walls). Ie auto belay or can you top rope solo? 

Again I'm new to this and don't know anyone to climb with and prefer to go it solo til I get some experience and meet people. Would obviously get instruction for the first time which I believe is necessary anyway. 

Cheers

Post edited at 19:26
 Neil Williams 20 Jul 2019
In reply to ySoCereal:

I doubt they allow roped soloing, I never heard of a wall that did.

ySoCereal 20 Jul 2019
In reply to Neil Williams:

How do people solo on indoor climbing walls without an auto belay? As I actually tried climbing about 15 years ago when Aviemore had it's own indoor wall and was quickly put off as I'm a very quiet guy socially and had nobody to climb with... and bouldering quickly lost it's charm as it was roped climbing on high walls I wanted to do.  

Neil Williams 20 Jul 2019
In reply to ySoCereal:

> How do people solo on indoor climbing walls without an auto belay?

You don't, if you want to climb alone you boulder (or use autos where fitted).

Gav_92 25 Jul 2019
In reply to ySoCereal:

Inverness bouldering wall has the problems reset relatively frequently so they remain interesting.

I'm pretty much new to climbing so cant pass on much info but if your looking for someone to go to the wall with send me a message

ySoCereal 27 Jul 2019
In reply to Gav_92:

Cheers bud, will be in touch at some point, currently without car - going to be a few weeks without it so sticking to Aviemore for now. 

Ian Jones 27 Jul 2019
In reply to ySoCereal:

Only been there once. I think there was some auto belays there. You can easily call them to find out. The bouldering was very limited in my view but then I don't really get the bouldering thing.