UKC

Belaying with a gri gri

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 SOUTHERN GRAY 16 Mar 2018

Whilst climbing with a friend indoors last night he confirmed my thoughts that he is not a watchful belayer because every time I looked down whilst I was leading a route he was stood looking elsewhere. He uses a gri gri. I've got little experience with this device as I'm happy with an ATC and I'm a bit of stickler for change. I asked him if it locks off by itself and he said yes. I'm still not happy however when I look down and most of the time he's miles away, not looking at me.  I was going to mention this to him but I suspect that he wouldn't take it very well... In his defence he does hold the live end of the rope ( not my end )

Has anybody got any thoughts about this or similar experience of this?

gravy 16 Mar 2018

Belayers come in several different breeds and, autolocking device or not, most people will be familiar with the belayer who looks distracted or unengaged.

These sorts come in two flavours:

- Those that go from casual posture to competent catch with the speed and grace of a cat every time.

- Those that are caught out and present a real hazard to themselves and the climber.

I know both sorts - I refuse to climb with the second sort and so should you. An additional thing to note is that it is possible to look casual and have good positioning and be ready and that a lot of competent belayers listen rather than look all the time and adjust their alertness dynamically according to circumstance.

I use autolocking devices, I don't use them to back me up (in case I forget to hold on) but to make it easier to belay someone when they are working a route - if your belayer needs an autolocker because they might drop you otherwise, find a new belayer!

Post edited at 12:50
 SteveSBlake 16 Mar 2018
In reply to SOUTHERN GRAY:

This is great..... 8/10, but let's play...