UKC

Doctor's orders: hangboarding but no climbing

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Brodes 26 Feb 2018

I've tweaked a muscle in my lower back.  Nothing too serious probably, but requires some physio and a few months away from activities that strain the lower back. So no climbing until the summer, probably.

I'm keen to retain last year's gains, and maybe even get stronger for the summer, without stressing lower back.  My plan is to replace climbing with 3 hang board sessions a week, and some core and flexibility training.  So yesterday I installed a beastmaker 1000 and a pull up bar in the kitchen. 

I'm a complete hangboard newbie.  So I'm struggling with the huge volume of advice on the internet regarding handboard training. Essentially the choice seems to be between repeaters (e.g. sets 6* of 7s on, and 3 sec rest), and maximum weight protocols (e.g. pick a hold you can hand for max of 15s, then do sets of 11s on, and rest for 1 min. progression by smaller holds or adding weight).  The former seems to be more for power endurance.  The latter for strength.

Realistically I'm an HVS/E1 trad leader, and 6a/b O/S sport.  Do you think I will go far wrong just trying to do the beastmaker app "Beasty 5A" program for a few weeks?  I tried it yesterday and got nowhere near the end.  It's certainly more of a repeater protocol, but I thought that would be a more gentle introduction for my muscles/tendons etc. 

All comments welcome!

Steven

jkarran 26 Feb 2018
In reply to Brodes:

I can't imagine a hangboard will be any gentler on your lower back than climbing carefully with your feet engaged, to be honest I suspect quite the opposite. Are you sure your doc really is giving you the best advice or more to the point they're fully understanding what you've taken good advice to mean, that you're not just taking their words literally while totally missing the spirit of it because you want to keep 'climbing'.