UKC

Fingerboard & numb fingers

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 J Whittaker 13 Sep 2017
I'm relatively new to finger strength training and have been doing it for about 3 months on & off (mainly when I'm away offshore for work and cant climb). I've been taking it steady with max 2 sessions per week following Eric Horst's beginner routine:

12 second hang, 2 minutes rest, 5 reps, 2 sets with a 5 minute rest in between sets.

Id say I've probably done between 10-15 sessions with no issues. Last week I finished up a session and my finger tips especially on my left hand felt tingly/numb and I thought nothing of it. Now at least a week later the middle two finger tips on my left hand still feel tingly/numb.

Any one else experienced this? It's slightly concerning!
 Alun 13 Sep 2017
In reply to J Whittaker:

I haven't experienced it, so can't be of specific help. What I can tell you is that you've been doing a lot of fingerboarding (15 sessions @ two a week = 7 weeks). That's a lot for anybody, but particularly for somebody who is climbing in your grade range.

My suggestion is to give the fingerboard a rest for a few weeks, focus on endurance or whatever, and come back to it later.

(Better still, ditch the fingerboard completely and go bouldering, it'll be better for your climbing anyway. Although I get that the fingerboard is more convenient).
Tomtom 13 Sep 2017
In reply to J Whittaker:

Also, you're following a 'max hang' protocol. For finger max strength gains. 3 months of that is pretty intense.
If you're new to finger boarding, or even not a higher grade climber/climber of a good few years, take it easy, but it's understandable that you want to train when you're away.
That being the case, vary your training, use a repeaters protocol for a while, more geared to power-endure even towards the endure end of the scale.