UKC

Fingerboard Trad endurance training?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 J Whittaker 14 May 2017
I'm totally new to any sort of fingerboard style training as I mainly climb & boulder to train. However I work offshore so have 3 week periods where I can't do any climbing and I'd like to use my time as best as possible - any advice will be helpful.

I have a pair of Tindeq duck rings (https://tindeq.com/ see for yourself if you don't know what they are) out here with me. Im not particularly interested in finger strength specifically at the moment as im not a good enough climber for that to be holding me back yet but what does is forearm pump and endurance once the rock starts getting steeper.

Does anyone have any suggestions to train endurance using fingerboard/rock ring style equipment?

Cheers!
 Ben07 14 May 2017
In reply to J Whittaker:
Being stronger is gonna help endurance because you not having to try so hard,. I'd just do normal finger board sessions. And general exercise. Core, push up pull ups etc. If i was stranded out at sea.
 alx 14 May 2017
In reply to J Whittaker:

You should look into performing repeaters on the fingerboard, this simulates the grip relax sequence you would use when climbing.
 radddogg 14 May 2017
In reply to J Whittaker:

At the level you say you're at, the best thing for reducing forearm pump is better footwork and overall general technique.
 Dr Toph 14 May 2017
In reply to J Whittaker:
'Encores' (repeaters+french pullups) made a big difference when I was training to boost my trad grade, helpful lockoff endurance for while you fiddle in a wire
http://www.beastmaker.us/training/2015/3/17/from-beastmakercouk

The metolius 10-minute workouts might also be adaptable to your rings - designed to produce a sustained pump and easily modified if it gets too easy
Post edited at 09:53
 SDM 14 May 2017
In reply to J Whittaker: