UKC

Is One Meal a Day best?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 stp 11 Jan 2018

Interesting video persuasively extolling the virtues of one meal per day for athletes.

youtube.com/watch?v=aEv3n44vPVQ&

As with much nutritional advice it directly contradicts much other info out there. So which is better? One meal, three or even six?

GarethSL 11 Jan 2018
In reply to stp:

Ahh so that's why Ronda was such a miserable bitch. She was permanently hangry! :^) I think like any diet the crunch is commitment, I can't see many getting through the first week to really reap the benefits, which if genuinely true seem to be many (though I am no sports science buff at all).

Personally, I think I would need to reduce exercise whilst my body adjusts, as I simply get distracted when climbing or doing exercise if I'm hungry. It quickly becomes un-enjoyably, tedious, laborious and demotivating. I've never tried a 'diet' before so it is tempting to give it a go. Then again, I also tell myself I should do some yoga... but that hasn't happened yet.

Post edited at 09:19
 Phil Anderson 11 Jan 2018
In reply to stp:

Sounds like a fairly harsh version of intermittent fasting (good phrase if you want to learn more about this stuff). From what I gather, a 16 hour fast will still have favourable benefits and can be much more easily achieved e.g. Don't eat anything after 8pm, then skip breakfast next day and have some lunch at 12.

GarethSL 11 Jan 2018
In reply to Phil Anderson:

> a 16 hour fast will still have favourable benefits

Interesting! In that regard I am somewhat on a 15 hour 'fast'. No breakfast, lunch at 11.30-12, with dinner around 9pm. Though I typically have a light snack before exercise around  5pm. Problem is we're normally back late from climbing so dinner is always a delayed affair.

But it seems a lot easier to manage than only eating an evening meal.

LeeWood 11 Jan 2018