UKC

Long term hangboarding; periodisation?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Roberttaylor 23 Oct 2020

I've been hangboarding twice a week for four months now and I have another six months before I get to climb on real rock again.

I have only the smallest and most basic of home bouldering walls, a hangboard and a pull-up bar available to me. 

I started with a month of fairly random exercises where I'd train six different hold types, followed by more and more structure creeping in. Then 8 weeks of max hangs, followed by 8 weeks of repeaters and I'm currently 3 weeks into an 8 week block of max hangs. Currently I am training my half-crimp (Beastmaker bottom outside edge) and 'small drag' (Beastmaker top row, outside edge).

Over the course of four months I have seen significant increases in my ability to hang from a Beastmaker (in terms of weight added, at least). Whether this will translate to improved climbing ability remains to be seen.

My question to UKC is; I want to maximise strength gains. How should I periodise the next 4.5 months? I won't see rock till April 2021, so I'll train endurance for 8 weeks leading up to that. 

Should I stick with max hangs/repeaters in eight week blocks, as I have been doing? Should I just do max hangs? I've read online that repeaters cause forearm hypertrophy but I can't find a source for this, so it could be 'bro science'. It has been suggested that I do max hangs as one of my weekly sessions and repeaters as the other.

ianstevens 23 Oct 2020
In reply to Roberttaylor:

What are you training for? Sport? If so then yes, a block of repeaters at the end is probably wise. Otherwise, if you’re seeing #gainz then I’d just keep at it. No need to over complicate things.

sxrxg 23 Oct 2020