UKC

Music Preferences in Indoor Rock Climbers?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Dana.Markovic 16 Apr 2018

Hello!

Having visited a variety of indoor climbing gyms in the UK, I have found that the music style's and genres played have varied. I am currently a music student and for my university assignment I am doing market research into what is the preferred music styles for Indoor rock climbers. Would be fab if climbers could fill out my survey! Only takes 2 minutes! (all answer will remain anonymous). 

https://www.surveymonkey.co.uk/r/FCGPXYS

Cheers

Post edited at 13:27
 nakedave 16 Apr 2018
In reply to Dana.Markovic:

Done.

For me, Eden Rock - great music. Kendal - not so good.

Robert Durran 16 Apr 2018

> Having visited a variety of indoor climbing gyms in the UK.

Did you mean "indoor climbing walls" or did you mean "US"?

Dandan 16 Apr 2018
In reply to Robert Durran:

For good or bad, welcome to 2018. It's one of the less upsetting americanisms in my opinion.

elliott92 16 Apr 2018

most "centres" are far more than just walls now though aren't they. with lots having serious training areas even with free weights etc. i quite like the term climbing gym

In reply to Dandan:

> For good or bad, welcome to 2018.

Definitely bad and, yes, it does seem to have become much more prevalent in recent months.

> It's one of the less upsetting americanisms in my opinion.

Really? I consider it just about the most irritating because unlike stuff like "send" and so on it is almost impossible to use ironically or comically.

In reply to elliott92:

> Most "centres" are far more than just walls now though aren't they. with lots having serious training areas even with free weights etc.

Yes, but the term gym could only possibly be applied once they also install wall bars and ropes for climbing up.

john arran 16 Apr 2018

When did yer average gym last have wall bars and ropes for climbing up?