UKC

Projecting and endurance

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Suncream 12 Dec 2020

Now that the weather's turned I've been getting a lot of sessions in at the wall. I'm successfully flashing 7a and sometimes 7a+, but every time I get on something harder, I find myself so drained and pumped making the top moves after dogging up that I have almost no motivation to work it for the redpoint. I feel like I should be able to redpoint 7b at least, but no luck so far.

It doesn't feel like I'm climbing particularly inefficiently, I'm not spending ages figuring the beta, I just don't seem to be able to hold on long enough to lead them cleanly. Is this a sign I need to be focussing on forearm training? Or is this just a consequence of how indoor climbs work, and that once I get outside again I can work the beta on technical routes and redpoint some harder climbs?

mcdougal 12 Dec 2020
In reply to Suncream:

I'm really no expert but it sounds like your tactics are at fault. If you practice the moves, but rest when you start to feel tired, then you could get them all dialed while saving some energy for the repoint. It sounds like what you're doing is getting knackered while attempting to onsight. 

1poundSOCKS 12 Dec 2020
In reply to Suncream:

> Or is this just a consequence of how indoor climbs work, and that once I get outside again I can work the beta on technical routes and redpoint some harder climbs?

I find it much harder indoors to bring a climb down to my level. Not so many options, often I climb it with pretty good beta the first time, or at least in the first few tries. Outdoors is a totally different story...

JLS 12 Dec 2020
In reply to Suncream: