UKC

Route setting - how much does it cost?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 msjhes2 03 Nov 2020

How much do route setters get paid?   

What started out as a woody in the spare bedroom has evolved into the entire room over the course of the pandemic.   I lack originality in my route setting and I am not very good at setting projects to train on so I was thinking it might be nice to get a real route setter into set some boulder problems.

Does anyone have any idea at what sort of cost I would be looking at?    Peak based of that makes a difference.

Barry Harper 03 Nov 2020
In reply to msjhes2:

A freelance setter will normally charge at least £130 a day for a commercial wall but i'm sure there would be a few keen local setters would do it for cheaper. Maybe ask at your local wall before lockdown starts.

In reply to msjhes2:

This doesn't answer you question but... My approach to setting at home is to get all the holds on the wall then start to make problems once everything is up. When I've tried to build a problem hold by hold its never as good.

Also good fun (although not from Thursday) is to get your mates round and get them to help you set problems. A few beers is cheaper than a route setter too. Setters are probably desperate for work right now though so good on you if you get someone in to set for you. 

petegunn 03 Nov 2020
In reply to msjhes2:

I would say more like £160+ for a day and probably a lot more for a well "known" person / setter.

Post edited at 19:47
 Qwerty2019 04 Nov 2020
In reply to msjhes2:

Best approach i can suggest is a scatter gun approach to your holds and then register with Eat Spray Love app.  Then join Homewall Problem Swap group on facebook.

With a bit of effort and setting a few climbs for others we got 100 climbs set for us on a system board.  With the 2 x foot options plus a mirror option on our board we ended up with 400 different climbs.  They were surprisingly good climbs too.