UKC

Rubber worn through in 4 months - normal?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
lidlot 20 Dec 2019

Hey,

I've been bouldering indoors for a couple of years, and in August I bought a pair of  La Sportiva Miuras. The rubber on the toe on one has already worn through - I used them twice outdoors but otherwise only indoor.

I go once or twice a week, but feel like getting through the sole of a pair of shoes in under 4 months of that kind of use can't be normal? 

Do you think I've just been unlucky, or will it be because I have crap technique?!

Any suggestions / ideas welcome...

Cheers,

D

Jon Greengrass 20 Dec 2019
In reply to lidlot:

how long did your last shoes last?

Jon Stewart 20 Dec 2019
In reply to lidlot:

I think that's a bit quick, but not that unusual for someone who's been climbing a couple of years (and maybe has some improvements in footwork still on the way?).

My tip is to only use your good shoes when you have to. Get a pair resoled, after which they will be a bit crap. Use these when you're warming up, to the point where you think the crapness of the shoes is starting to hold you back. Then, get your serious shoes on to try problems at your limit.

Do this outdoors too. Depending on what types of climbing you do, after a while you could have a pair of floppy, fairly worn out things for long trad routes; some hardly used hardcore bouldering shoes; some tough indoor shoes (but you might want to put the hardcore bouldering ones on if these feel crap on hard stuff), etc. Then, when you're just using the right tool for the job, you'll have no idea how quickly they're actually wearing out. Truth is, it might be just as quick as those Miuras you've just demolished - but many of them will be much cheaper!

Post edited at 12:11
lidlot 20 Dec 2019
In reply to Jon Greengrass:

Like nine months - a year?

lidlot 20 Dec 2019
In reply to Jon Stewart: