UKC

Training/Overtraining

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Little Butch 16 Jun 2021

Hey!

I’ve been climbing for around 2/3 years and looking to ramp it up a notch! I currently Boulder around 7a. 

I’m an arborist so my body already gets alottttt of exercise throughout the day and I’ve been doing 100 body weight squats, 100 pressups and 50 pull-ups a day to try and keep things balanced a bit. I’m bouldering 3/4 times a week but I’m going to change one of the days for some lead climbing as I really want to get some more experience with that in. 

Do you think keep things as I am? Focus more on improving technique (definitely room there lol)? Or something more structured?

Cheers.

Luke01 16 Jun 2021
In reply to Little Butch:

I did tree work for a couple of years while training and climbing. I found that I really had to budget my energy, and cut out anything that wasn't really useful training for my goals.

I'm struggling to see what benefit you might be getting from doing 100 squats after a day of being on your feet, climbing trees, dragging brash etc. In fact, I'd think about what you're trying to achieve by doing 100 of anything every single day. Pull ups and push ups are great, but  for maintaining or gaining strength you want to be doing the bare minimum work with as much rest as possible. Do some research on strength training, but as a starting piece of guidance: use more weight and do way less reps for strength, and rest a couple of days between sessions.

Bouldering and finger boarding are both great in terms of using your energy budget effectively. I'd advise thinking about weighing your weaknesses against your goals and choosing what you do based on that. 

jezb1 16 Jun 2021

Massive generalisation, but on top of all you do, I reckon finger strength and technique would be my prioritisation.

Iamgregp 16 Jun 2021