UKC

Workout

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Little Butch 03 Mar 2019

I’ve been climbing seriously for about 6 months now and I try to climb at the local gym 3/4 times a week. Hardest routes I’ve managed were graded v6 but that’s my limit. 

I’ve always been slim and strong for my weight but I’m definitely noticing a difference in the way my body looks. I’d like to start a body weight/calisthenics routine but don’t want to overdo it. What do you guys do training wise? Wouldn’t mind working on my flexibility/mobility too.

Oogachooga 03 Mar 2019
In reply to Little Butch:

Eat raw chicken heads

Jon Stewart 03 Mar 2019

Generally speaking, people on here will do nothing except go climbing.

There's a good reason for this: if you want to get better at climbing, then going climbing is by far the best way to achieve that. If you do 3 sessions a week, if you sacrifice 1 session to do gym work or whatever, you're just losing a session which would be more effectively spent at the wall (or better, on rock).

All this said, I currently have an elbow injury which I probably wouldn't have got if I'd been doing stretching and antagonist muscle exercises. I am very sceptical of non-climbing exercises making people actually better at climbing, below the elite level. But doing something like yoga in addition to all the climbing sessions (not instead of) may help prevent injury.

alx 03 Mar 2019

Given your limited climbing background I would target your antagonistic muscles if you want to do anything above just climbing.

Removed User 03 Mar 2019

I use a variety of calisthenic apps, one of the best I've found is YAYOG, You Are Your Own Gym. There are plenty out there to choose from. I'll only train if I can't get to the wall.