UKC

Chamonix route recommendations for newbs in September

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 discosucks 23 Feb 2022

Hi Lads ,

I’m heading to Chamonix for 2 weeks in September . I have no experience in snow / winter / summer alpine.

I had considered doing a course based around introduction but in the end have decided to go with a guide for the two weeks .

There are two of use going and there will be a total of 6 days climbing with days off in-between to do what ever we want / recover .

Perhaps this is an odd way to introduce your self to alpine climbing but that’s how were doing it.

We both climb at about HVS/E1 and are fit (ish) , lots of multi pitch experience also .

The plan this summer is to refine the E1’s and get more hill fit .

My question is what should be the expectations for the trip . I have to get back to the guide with a wish list and he is going to review it and let use know if we are dreaming or not.

I know the first few days will probably need to be mostly skills based activities but Ideally we would like to do mixed routes that required pitched climbing and the use of crampons and tools.

Id love a few recommendations for good routes at our level as I have no idea were to start.

I have the Rockafax book and have been looking at routes like ‘vent du dragon TD’ . Is this grade/route too ambitious?

Thanks for reading. 

Suncream 23 Feb 2022
In reply to discosucks:

After five days of easier stuff I'm sure you could build up to Vent du Dragon on top rope with a competent guide, even if you've never used tools before. Personally I would rather use my time learning to lead easier ground, M5 is no pushover (and to me feels equivalent on lead to around E2 in terms of difficulty, but others will have their own opinions).

Whether Vent du Dragon has enough ice in September is a different question. 

rsc 23 Feb 2022
In reply to discosucks: