UKC

Ice axes, pinky rest or not?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 mauraman 14 Jul 2018

Due to a surgical procedure my summer climbing season has been blown so, I want to make the most of the idle time by looking forward to the future and, even if this might seem a bit premature, to perfect my new gear for the winter 

I have some mountaineering experience but almost no ice/mixed climbing experiece. So far I have climbed with one mountaineering axe on grade I and II gullies, mostly solo,  and I would like to have a shot at leading grade III next winter, if and when I find "the perfect conditions" day we all dream of

Along with boots and crampons, I have acquired a pair of second hand DMM fly (old stile) as they seems to be versatile "all rounder" entry level good tools  . I was thinking to go leashless and was wondering if a pinky rest is necessary or, at that grade, the handle grip alone can suffice, even without leashes. I have seen that there are ways to retro fit a pinky rest, even on the old models but, as I will still be using at least one of the axes for general mountaineering, I was wondering how this will affect plunging the axe shaft. The leashes will eliminate the need for a pinky rest but I think leashes might  be a hindrance more that a help, (not sure here either but leashless seems to be less fuss for placing gear). I have also tought about the possibility to fit only one of the axes with the pinky rest (and possibly fit the other with a trigger finger rest?) I have also tought that with accurate foot work there might  be limited need to hang from the tools, therefore the pinky rest might not be necessary and I am just overcomplicating things? obviously I can try before I proceed to modify the axes, but  I would be grateful if you could share your opinions/ideas/experiences in order to help me on this decision

Thank you all for your feedbacks!!!

bensilvestre 14 Jul 2018
In reply to mauraman: