UKC

Mixed and ice - carrying screws and 'soft gear' safely

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 mcawle 07 Mar 2023

So I'm not very experienced in ice or mixed climbing although I have done a little bit.

I've experimented with a few different carrying systems for ice screws but basically I am wondering how people manage sharp ice screws around soft goods, particularly slings on alpine draws and quickdraws.

Generally speaking I am using ice screw clippers attached to harness clipper slots, where there are 2 clipper slots in front of the front gear loops and 2 more in between the front and rear.

So far I have gone with the approach of two clippers, one between the front and rear gear loops on each side, as I haven't needed to carry more screws than that.

In this scenario I find that the screw ends hang at about the same level as the quickdraw/alpine draw slings and it makes me think there is at least some chance of the screws compromising the slings.

This is more apparent when carrying a larger rack as harness loops are not just carrying draws but also nuts, cams, hexes, longer slings etc. 

If I am just carrying a small number of screws (2-4) this is less of an issue, particularly on easy alpine where I often leave the screw caps on as they are really only there for contingency on glaciers etc.

But with a bigger rack the proximity of sharp and soft makes me a bit nervous. Haven't tried the front clipper slots but that could be an option.

How do more experienced people tend to rack up for ice/mixed when carrying larger numbers of screws and/or other gear? Bandolier is obviously an option; I've never tried one.

Or am I over-thinking this?

Post edited at 15:09
 LucaC 07 Mar 2023
In reply to mcawle: