UKC

Petzl Sum'tec

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Hendrix464 17 Nov 2020

Hi there,

So I recently got given a petzl sum'tec by a friend. I'm looking to do some winter climbing this year, nothing too hard as I'm a complete beginner. Is it worth buying a second sum'tec and using them as a pair to climb or would they be completely the wrong tool for the job?

Thanks in advance   

Suncream 17 Nov 2020
In reply to Hendrix464:

As a complete beginner you might well find that you only need one axe for your first season, and the Sum'tec would be ideal for that. And plenty of people have an unmatched pair of axes when they start out, with one less and one more technical axe, so you could always buy a second axe of something you will eventually buy the pair for.

tehmarks 17 Nov 2020
In reply to Hendrix464:

A friend bought a Sum'tec adze as his first axe, with the intention of of pairing it with the hammer at a future date if necessary. He seemed to like it, and I can see why.

My first pair were an old pair of Black Diamond Rage, bought used from here, and one of the first things I did was buy a lightweight mountaineering axe for the moderate terrain where I spend most of my snowy time. I've since replaced the Rages with some Vipers, and because I'm a wimp who's very comfortable not having serious ambitions above Scottish III and AD, I frequently climb with the hammer paired with my mountaineering axe (a Petzl Summit). It's a great sort of combination for when you want two axes but the terrain is moderate or there's a lot of 'exciting walking' to get to, from or off the route.

The Sum'tec, I reckon, would make a great start if you're just getting into snow and ice. I imagine if you wanted to pair it with something else in the future, the corresponding hammer would happily get you up things up to a respectable grade. And they're light.

TL;DR: I think they'd be an excellent choice.

Post edited at 18:18
 TechnoJim 17 Nov 2020