UKC

Surgeons Gully???

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Gavin McColl 14 Nov 2019

Hi all,

Does anyone know if Surgeons Gully has actually been fully climbed in either summer or winter?? 

The Ben Nevis guidebook assumes thay it has not and 2 UKC threads also lead to this assumption...

Any books or links with more updated info would be great

Cheers 

Fruitbat 14 Nov 2019
In reply to Gavin McColl:

I've no direct knowledge but would suggest giving Heavy a shout via his blog https://heavywhalley.wordpress.com/ he's bound to have some info about the gully and will know who to ask about ascents.

OP Gavin McColl 14 Nov 2019
In reply to Fruitbat:

Thanks for the advice!... Although I can't find an option to contact Heavy on his blog page?

Does he have any other means of contact?

Cheers

Fruitbat 14 Nov 2019

He used to have details on his website but it now says contact him via his blog so I'd just reply/comment on his latest blog post asking him to contact you. He's also on Twitter and Instagram and the like so they may be better...

OP Gavin McColl 14 Nov 2019
In reply to Fruitbat:

Ok I'll try get him on insta, thanks again!

finc00 14 Nov 2019

According to my 1994 copy of the Ben Nevis SMC guide Surgeons was climbed in 1947 and given VS. However it does stop describing the "pitches" when the gully splits into 3 near the top.

Webster 14 Nov 2019

what do you mean by fully? its in the cicerone winter guidebook, presumably with a first ascentionist listed, but i dont have my copy to hand so cant check

drunken monkey 14 Nov 2019
In reply to Cog:

That thread is a belter. Good old Norrie (RIP)

Deadeye 14 Nov 2019

It's been done.  Probably several times.  Including by my dad!

TobyA 15 Nov 2019
In reply to Deadeye: