Nick Estcourt Award 2013 Announced

by Jack Geldard / Nick Estcourt Award Mar/2013
This news story has been read 3,879 times
Andy Houseman, 96 kb
Andy Houseman
© Jack Geldard / UKC
The Nick Estcourt Award is pleased to announce that the recipients for 2013 are Jonathan Griffith and Andy Houseman for their British Charakusa Expedition which will attempt the K6 West North Face, Link Sar North Face and other objectives in the Charakusa Valley, Karakoram, Pakistan. They have been awarded £2,000.

The award is also very pleased to announce that Ian Parnell has joined the trustees (Chris Bonington, Paul Braithwaite, Carolyn Estcourt, Tom Estcourt, Mick Fowler, John Peck, Doug Scott, Martin Wragg).

The trustees have also announced that, in order to preserve the spirit of adventure and help maintain mountains in their natural state, they have decided not to award future grants to expeditions that take bolts.

The 2014 award will be decided in early Feb 2014. The application deadline is Jan 31st 2014.

Jon Griffith on the top of the Aiguille Verte, 217 kb
Jon Griffith on the top of the Aiguille Verte
© Jon Griffith / Alpine Exposures

Forums ( Read more )
This has been read 3,879 times