UKC

first time full sus owner - bike arrived - is it ride ready?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Tobes 30 Jan 2022

Back in August I ordered and paid for a full sus bike (my first one) through Alpkit - Bike arrived about a week ago.

I have no experience with rear suspension and hoped (assumed) the bike would be good to go out the box, this might not be the case? 

The rear suspension is a 'Rock Shox Deluxe select +' no manual/user guide came with it so I started looking online which has made me more confused (!) I'm now thinking i've got to set it up pressure wise with regards my weight? I was hoping for something like an 'idiots guide/quick start up guide' but not found anything like that yet.

Before I get lost in youtube videos any help/advice?

Many thanks!  

climberchristy 30 Jan 2022
In reply to Tobes:

Yep you'll need to set the pressure appropriate to your weight. Will need to google an online manual to get the right settings. Hope you enjoy the bike. Full sus is great fun.  

Post edited at 18:21
OP Tobes 30 Jan 2022
In reply to climberchristy:

thanks - ridden a h/t for years but thought I'd make the move - would I also need any specific tools/gear - or is a standard track pump used/sufficient? 

cheers 

Dave Todd 30 Jan 2022
In reply to Tobes:

You probably know this already but...you will need a shock pump to set up your suspension (in case you don't already own one).

Also, take the shock pump with you on your first few (short!) rides so that you can fettle the air pressures and get closer to whatever works for you (front and back if required).

Finally, when you get it all dialled make a note of the pressures that work for you (so that you can get it dialled quicker in future).

Finally finally...treat all on-line tutorials and manuals as a 'starter for 10' - you have to find the setup that suits you and whatever you ride (obviously keeping within the bounds of safety!)

Dax H 30 Jan 2022
In reply to Tobes: