UKC

organising an event on forestry commission land

Please Register as a New User in order to reply to this topic.
 ALT EGO 16 May 2024

Morning all. please excuse some intentional vagueness, intended to not get anybody in the poo. My teenage kids have been banging on about organising a race/event in  a local forestry commission woods. Their idea sounds to be a good one  so I said I would try to help. As I have no experience of this   I said I would have word with somebody I know who  has done this in the past on forestry commission land (not the same woods ) and a couple of days ago I did so. They used to organise races on a not for profit basis, they have a full time job and this was done purely for fun and to "put something back".  They said that they would "probably" not do so anymore due to the attitude of FC and to the costs the FC wanted to charge them making it very difficult to run without loosing money. My response was that I thought the FC had some kind of remit to encourage usage , promote fitness, get people off their bums etc. the response was along the lines of well you would have thought so . First question : do they ? Second question : if they do would it not be useful for them to have somebody whose job it is to help thing like this happen ? as the person  i was chatting to said that they felt that the FC had become increasingly difficult to deal with.  I can understand the FC making a small charge to cover admin on their part - which i would imagine would involve checking that the organisers had  done all due diligence, got insurance , got parking sorted , toilets etc. but beyond that how do they justify making a charge that would seem to be for profit ?

I wonder if anybody on here has any experience of this ?

ChrisJD 16 May 2024
In reply to ALT EGO:

Message Kev @ https://www.facebook.com/PMBAEnduroSeries

He is not currently running any Enduro events in England on FC land

.... I'll say no more

a crap climber 16 May 2024